Reflecting on the nature of independence…

As I sit here today, contemplating independence and thanking (internally more than verbally) all the men and women I know, and the ones I don’t and never will know, that made this day possible…it strikes me that for the first time in my life I stand a decent chance at understanding freedom. I have the shot to understand independence. I’ve been given the opportunity to experience independence on a brand new level. It’s something I didn’t know I wanted until I got it. Of course, it’s tainted with more than a little sadness–for reasons I don’t care to discuss, and let’s face it…I have the freedom to choose not to speak about it–but I’m happy to say that I’m happy to be free.

 

I have the choice to go into the world and make the impact that I’ve always wanted to make. I have the choice to sit here, tapping out words that maybe someone will read and maybe someone won’t read. I have the choice to sit around in my pajamas all day, eating toasted cinnamon raisin bread smothered in honey. If I choose to, I can sit and cry for the rest of my life. If I want, I can go rob a bank. The point is…freedom has never felt more real, more valid, or more within reach than it does this year.

 

So, I’ve made up my mind to make the most out of my freedom. Independence means we’re free, but if we truly want to experience that freedom…well, we have to make the choice to be free. We have to make the conscious decision to do something with that gift we’ve been given. And quite honestly, we owe it to the men and women that fought for that freedom to do something with it.

 

Thank you, to all the people that gave me this wonderful gift. Watch me make you proud.

Leave a Reply

